Naps are a curious thing.

Did you know that it’s actually possible to take too long of a nap? No? Well neither did I. Often when I have to work a night shift after being up since the crack of dawn I debate whether I should take a nap. More often than not I find myself drawn in by the art of writing or social networking and before I can get my nap in, it’s time to get ready for work.

As you already know, I work as a certified nursing assistant in a hospital. I do 12 1/2 hour shifts, though they may as well be considered 13 hours if you count going through charts before hand. The job itself is rough, but when you factor in the lack of breaks on the night shift, you can begin to wonder why we’re so worn out. 

So I come back to the naps. I decided, since I have a lot of shifts and overtime ahead of me this weekend, that I would take a nap before going in tonight. Studies suggest taking about 30 minutes to an hour. I slept for three hours. You can imagine I woke up more tired than I was before and am now sucking down a pot of coffee to get me through the dreaded graveyard shift.

In the end, I’ll leave you with this: don’t sleep for too long, but don’t forget to take that much needed nap in the middle of the day.

Leave a Reply

