Sleep Eludes Me Once More

Image

I began counting down the hours I had left as I lay in bed staring at the wall in the dark. I could feel the blanket of exhaustion pressing down on me and I sought sleep. At 3:37 in the morning, I had approximately five hours and twenty-three minutes until I had to be up for school.

The seconds ticked by and soon the minutes followed. Four in the morning; five… I tossed and turned for what felt like eternity while sleep eluded me. 

Toniiiiiiight, weeee are yooouuung ♫

I groaned as I rolled over and pressed snooze on my alarm clock. 9AM. I had probably only slept for about an hour total and for a moment, I thought about whether I really had to go to class. Today was Tuesday, which meant I would sit at a desk learning sign language. I’m in my fourth level and, as much as I loved the language, I didn’t think I would be able to stay awake through the silence.

Rolling back over, I closed my eyes and went back to sleep. I woke up again around eleven and, dragging myself out of bed, decided three hours was enough. I’m generally use to getting minimal sleep due to my hectic schedule, but it seemed to have caught up to me this morning as I sucked down a pot of coffee before leaving the apartment for the day.

I had a decision to make: either sit at home doing my three week over due homework or have a social life. I decided to go with the social life and set out to meet with my friend, Nikki. Nikki and I have been friends for almost two years now, and I can’t imagine my life without her. She’s quirky, hilarious, great company and always a shoulder to cry on when I need one. 

After shopping and going to get frozen yogurt with her, we went our separate ways and I drove myself home. In three hours I will have to throw on a pair of scrubs and drag myself to work, but not without stopping at Dunkins for my medium hot coffee – extra cream and six equal.

Leave a Reply

