Decisions, Decisions.

Have you ever noticed that there’s only two options when it comes to dating? Either no one is interested in you or everybody is. There’s no middle ground. You can be single for god knows how long and no one is interested. No one wants to date you or even look at you. Then someone glances your way and soon after, everyone does. 

It can be overwhelming, not knowing how you feel about those who want to be with you or whether their actions are truly sincere. Then, not only are you unsure who you want to see, if any, each of them want you to exclusively date them before there even being a relationship.

Correct me if I’m wrong, but isn’t the point of “dating” to see who you actually want to be with? How are you suppose to pick one and hope they’re the right one while the others slip away? I can’t just tell the others “pick a number and I’ll get to you if this one doesn’t work out”. So how do you pick? 

There’s a reason why I remain single, and it’s not because no one is interested. It’s because there’s too much work involved, to be honest. First, I have to decide whether or not I’m attracted, then I have to fancy myself up for some date that I don’t have time for in the beginning, and then hope that it was the right decision. 

Or, I can just stay single. There’s nothing wrong with being “alone” as some may call it. I like to call it independent. Why would I want to have to make each decision with the thought of how it would affect my significant other when I can make it based on how it would affect me? I love being single. I can wake up in the morning and, if I don’t have to go anywhere, can let my hair air dry after my shower and stay in sweat pants all day without someone judging me.

Well, until now, that is. Now that everyone knows that’s how I spend my rare free days, go ahead and mock me. No really, I don’t care. I don’t care what others think of me. If someone truly wants to be with me, they will love me for who I am; flaws and all. That’s what a relationship is about. 

One thought on “Decisions, Decisions.

  1. Being single has a lot of advantage. I don’t know the situation as a womanl, but as a man, I found all these points:
    1 – The economy: No gifts to do for wedding anniversaries, Valentine’s Day, the new fashion dress at “only” 100 dollars, etc. …
    2 – You can go back home at any hours of day or night without having to be accountable.
    3 – In the evening, you can choose what you want to watch on TV.
    4 – You don’t see your wife getting older, with wrinkles widening.
    5 – You have no tyrannous stepmother.
    6 – No kids crying all the time and who you have to pay studies.
    By cons there is a big drawback to being a single man: You have no wife … bitchy, spendthrift, jealous … but who loves you. And you find yourself all alone like an idiot.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

