Authors Need to Allow Themselves to Breathe.

I’ve finally begun to build up to the climax of Shadows and I’ve learned that when writing a dark, vital part of a story, sometimes an author needs to walk away for a couple minutes and breathe. When I write, I get deep into my main character’s mind. To write Shadows, I have sent my character into a deep depression and once I’m in deep enough, it’s hard to disconnect myself from the story and bring myself back to reality.

I’ve gotten to a very deep part and, as much as I want to keep writing, needed to take a minute to bring myself back. I’m generally a very happy person, so I have to try really hard to bring in the correct tone into my work. I love it, don’t get me wrong, but I fear if I don’t allow myself in deep enough, I won’t be able to pull it off.

Now that I’ve had a minute to breathe, I’m going to bring myself back into the depth of Shadows

Leave a Reply

