A Little About Me

I’ve been writing since I was six years old. It’s always been a passion for me, and I began with writing short stories. My first story I ever wrote was called The Cat That Leaves Fish Alone when I was seven. It’s amazing to see how far I’ve come since then!

When I was twelve, I had to write a research paper. I wasn’t sure what to write, so I pulled a topic out of a hat: Domestic Violence. It seems like a heavy topic to write about in sixth grade, but nonetheless, I researched it and wrote my paper. I had a lot of information left over, and I’d always wanted to do something bigger with my writing, so I decided to write a novel. When I was thirteen, I began Lost Voice. It wasn’t easy, and when I was fifteen, after countless computer crashes, I finally finished it. I didn’t plan to do anything with the novel, I wasn’t sure if I even wanted to share it with friends, but when I was sixteen, a teacher of mine caught a glimpse of chapter one and encouraged me to pursue publication.

My senior year of high school, I took a creative writing class and allowed that teacher to read the first few chapters as well. She encouraged me to publish, also. A few months before graduating, when I was seventeen, Lost Voice was published. I chose self-publishing because I wanted to have complete control over my writing. I feel if I go a traditional route, my stories won’t be my stories anymore.

Three years later, soon before I turn twenty, I’m about to come out with my second novel, Shadows, about a girl suffering depression. This one is more personal, although it’s not a true story. I dug deep within myself to make this story as realistic as I could, and I finally found a way to put into words the way I once felt. I’m so excited to share it, but I’m also nervous. But if I wasn’t nervous to share it, it wouldn’t be good, right? Summer of 2014 can’t come fast enough!

Leave a Reply

