Everything Has a Solution

There’s a solution to everything. 

Today’s Easter, which means almost all stores are closed, or at least the ones I needed to be open were. I made a promise to my co-workers that I’d make cheesy chicken broccoli alfredo for dinner at work tonight. I had planned to stop at Hannaford on my drive home from visiting my parents last night, but hadn’t realized the stores would be closing early. No problem, I thought. I would just stop today before I started cooking. No big deal.

But it was a big deal, and after driving to three different stores, some as far as half an hour away from my home, I called my mom in a panic.

“Go to a convenience store, Nik,” she informed me. I stopped at the nearest gas station, hoping, or rather praying, they’d have what I need. But gas stations don’t carry chicken, I realized, and panic set in once again. I found the pasta and plain alfredo sauce and figured it would have to do. I knew I wouldn’t find fresh parsley, fresh broccoli, fresh redbell peppers, or even chicken, but figured I’d look anyways.

I found a family sized box of frozen chicken breasts and made my purchase. At home, I found a box of frozen broccoli in the freezer and made due. My dinner would happen anyways!

I then found some dried parsley in the cabinet and added it in as well. 

In the end, it all worked out.

Leave a Reply

