Vacation: A Little Getaway With the Family

Arizona has been absolutely amazing. I didn’t think it was possible to have this much fun! As I’m use to working full time and going to school everyday, I never have much time to do what I want to do. I was a little nervous coming out here, at first, since I hadn’t seen my great nana since I was six or seven, so I wasn’t sure what she was like. I was so little when I last saw her, I couldn’t remember.

Then I thought: “This is the woman who told me I had to come see her before she ‘croaked’, and she’s family, it can’t be too bad.” And it wasn’t. My great nana and I have gotten along like we’ve known each other our whole lives. I’ve never laughed so hard in my life, and I know there are many more laughs to come.

She gets around pretty well, and yesterday we spent the afternoon at Goldfield Ghost Town; an abandoned mining town. It was awesome getting to see it!

And don’t even get me started about the wildlife. I absolutely love photographing birds and other animals, and I was pleased to find that a lot of the birds posed for me! There were even two jack rabbits my father found that I slowly followed into bushes and one of them looked right at me, turned to give me a full side view, and stayed perfectly still until I started to walk away. It was incredible!

Not to mention, I saw my first hummingbird yesterday and man are those suckers hard to capture! They move extremely fast, and they dart around. I tried real hard to get a nice picture, but the best I got was a silhouette. I’m not complaining, though. At least I got something, right?

Fair warning, if I go missing, my great nana probably has me hostage. She told me I’m not allowed to go back to Maine, and she’ll lock me in her bedroom if she has to when the rest of the family leaves. She wants to keep me. All in all, vacation has been a real treat. It has to be the best vacation I’ve been on so far, even though I don’t go on many.

Leave a Reply

