Vacation: Visiting the Grand Canyon

The Grand Canyon is one of the most beautiful places I’ve ever seen. It took us seven hours to drive there from Mesa, Arizona because we stopped in Sedona for lunch (which was a little out of the way for us), and about four hours back. The drive was worth it, and when the six of us got there, the temperature was fifty-six, almost as cold as back home in Maine, and the wind was so strong I thought I was going to fly away.

The view brought tears to my mother’s eyes when we finally approached it. It was overwhelming for her, at first, because she was able to experience it with her grandmother, mother, husband and children. Four generations were together at that very moment, and we were experiencing something magical.

My great grandmother and nana have both seen the canyon a few times, but the rest of us have only seen pictures. No picture could prepare us for the beauty. It’s definitely a place you’ll have to visit someday if you ever have the chance. If the grand canyon is only one of the wonders of the world, I can’t even imagine how beautiful the rest are.

When we finally finished walking around – we would have liked to stay longer, but the wind had to be almost sixty miles an hour and it was freezing – we came across a bunch of Elk. I thought it was normal, seeing as we were up in the mountains and they had to be used to people by now, but I didn’t learn until later on that was the first time my great grandmother and nana have ever seen them that close. It was cool, though, and one came so close to me I could have touched him. I didn’t, just in case, but he turned to look at me, less than a foot away from my face, then turned and began walking away. 

It was almost like he wanted me to follow him, because when I got to where he was going, I found three more Elk. He looked at me once more before taking off. It was incredible!

I woke up this morning to a voicemail from work. Upon investigation, they were asking me if I would be willing to go in for a shift tonight. Lisa said to call back if I was able to work, so I didn’t call back. She’d understand that meant I wasn’t available. Sorry, Lisa, I’m across the country, and I wouldn’t make it back in time!

I’ve had a lot of fun out here on vacation, and I don’t want to fly back to Maine on Saturday. Unfortunately I do, and I have homework I still need to finish before finals next week. I’m slacking a bit, I know that, but when it’s 80s-90s outside and you’re in Arizona, you’d be crazy to want to sit inside and write a book report. No thank you!

Leave a Reply

