Writer’s Block: Challenge Accepted

Alright, guys. So my creative juices are completely dried up. So much that I can barely write anything. I put out a cry for help on Twitter, received a challenge, and this is what I came up with.

The more I read it, the more I hate it, but I kinda sorta like it?

So here’s what I’m going to do. This is in no way saying this will be a part of book three. But it also might be. Here’s what I want from you. I want you to read this. Then I want you to read it a second time. Next, I want you to either comment here or tweet me (@nbelanger6) what you think of it or what comes to mind for you. The more I read it, the more I hate it, but I kinda sorta like it. I want to know if you like it or if you hate it. Keep in mind this is unedited.

Here it is!

I lay in the field, the grass tickling the bare skin on the back of my arms. My breathing was steady and my chest rose with each inhalation of the chilly air. The illumination on my surroundings came only from the brightness of the stars above me. The sky was bright, a color lighter than black but darker than navy blue. I turned my head to the side, making sure Thomas was still laying beside me. Unmoving, but still there. Sleeping? I closed my eyes, begging for a world far away to call me home. Yet I couldn’t help but shudder as the gentle breeze crossed over me. I let out a long yawn, rolling onto my side and wrapping an arm gently around my companion. I pulled myself closer, trying to take in any heat radiating from his body. His side was damp with a warm sweat. Why was he sweating? It was summer, but the breeze in the after midnight air caused his skin to be cool to the touch. Unresponsive but still there. Sleeping but unmoving. Cool skin but sweating. Sweating or…

I jumped back, fumbling around for my phone for an unnatural lighting. I could hear the blood rush through my veins as my heart beat in my chest. Thump-thump. Thump-thump. My hands shook. Relax, Anna. I could already feel the tears race down my cheeks as I finally found the flashlight application on my phone. With shaking hands, I turned the light on Thomas. His eyes were shut, almost in a dream state, and his left arm rested gently by his side. His red side.

Stars collided and I fell into the dark void they created. Empty. Secluded. I dangled on the thin line of reality I had left; disoriented while the black abyss consumed me.

Leave a Reply

