The Teenage Years Are Ending

It’s recently come to my attention that I’ve been massively slacking on my blog posts. It’s also come to my attention that in less than one month I’ll no longer be a teenager. That’s right, on August 4 I will finally turn the big 2-0. That’s in about twenty-three days. But who’s counting?

As most of you already know, I started working at my first job when I was fourteen, graduated high school at seventeen and moved into my own apartment when I was eighteen (just after I got my first “big girl” job as a CNA at the hospital). If that doesn’t scream adult, I don’t know what does.

But even so, I feel like I’m not an adult. I’ll always be a kid at heart, but I’ve suddenly realized even though I have the excuse that I’m still a teenager for the next twenty-three days, what will be my excuse twenty-four days from now? Do I really have to admit that I’m a – GASP – grown-up?

I guess there’s a bright side to all of this: in three-hundred-eighty-eight days I will legally be able to drink alcohol.

One thought on “The Teenage Years Are Ending

  1. I want to reassure you Nicole. I’m 36 and I still feel like I’m just graduated. I feel like I had left the school benches maximum one or two years ago.
    The downside is that … There is what we feel and there is reality. And when I see the number of my age … I feel old.

    Like

Leave a Reply

