7-7-7 Challenge

I was tagged to do the 7-7-7 challenge by Holly Harker (check out her post here)

The challenge is to open your current work in progress to the seventh page, drop down to the seventh line and then post the next seven lines.

My current work in progress is called One Last Wish. I’m actually quite excited about this book and I hope you are too. Leading up to the scene I’m about to show you, Brooke has just left the bar where she’s met the bartender, Sean, her future love interest, for the first time. It’s the day her daughter would have turned seven if she hadn’t been declared dead two months earlier after being missing for some time.

Brooke has had an eerie feeling someone has been watching her ever since her daughter went missing and she may not be wrong. Let’s take a look, shall we?

Outside, the cool breeze brushes my tangled hair behind me and I hastily pull the brown curls into a messy bun on top of my head. I take in the fresh air and listen to the hum of the town. The bar sits roughly two miles from my apartment and I start my steady stride, hoping Nana will be fast asleep by the time I walk through the door.

I can still feel the eyes following me like a tracker; digging in to expose the wounded soul I’ve become. I quicken my pace, the air biting at my cheeks. I’m panting, almost tripping over my feet as I run down the road. I take a peek behind me and slow my pace to a walk when I don’t see anyone.

Oh, Brooke. Maybe your feeling is right, maybe it’s wrong.

I’m not sure who to tag, so I’m going to challenge anyone who reads this post and wants to do it. Tag me in it if you do, I want to see it!

Leave a Reply

