College Rant

Get a degree. Further your career. Make good money. Give up four crucial years of your life. Go to college. It’ll be fun they said.

They lied.

The thing is, this whole college thing isn’t fun. Or easy. Or cheap. You see, I’m in my third year of college and I’m behind on my major. Correction. I’m not even a part of my major yet. When I graduated high school I was absolutely certain I wanted to be a doctor. A OBGYN to be exact. But things change. People change their minds every day. I can barely decide what I want for dinner tonight. After my first year of college, I started working at the hospital as a CNA, a certification I got my senior year of high school.

And you know something? I loved it. Still do. So much that I decided to change my major to nursing. But here’s the problem. My GPA wasn’t up to the 3.0 it needed to be. As a pre-med major, my 2.1 GPA was considered decent. Hell, even my current 2.57 GPA is considered great. But not if I want to change majors. Nope, I need a 3.0 to have a chance at switching. I’m hoping this semester will finally get me to that 3.0. Otherwise I’m screwed.

I go to school full time to get as much financial aid as possible. I work full time (and sometimes overtime) to be able to pay the rest of my tuition my financial aid doesn’t cover. Limiting myself on either school or work will not go over well for me. But that’s another story for another time.

School’s hard. My philosophy class requires a seven page essay following a hundred pages of extensive reading every week. This isn’t the only assignment assigned each week, but it is the most time consuming. At the end of doing this course work, working my 36+ hours of overnights at the hospital, attending class, and sneaking in sleep here and there to keep me going, what time is left for my other course work? This, in turn, poses a risk to my GPA. If I can’t spend time on my other classes, will my grades fail?

Yes, I admit I’m procrastinating right now by writing this blog post, but if you truly think about it, my writing is suffering. I haven’t written a blog post in almost a month, and it had been longer before that one. My word count for One Last Wish has been stuck at 4000 words for almost two months and I usually write at least 2,000 a day. That means the book should be close to half way finished  if not more!

Let me conclude with this statement: I am 20 years old and my social life consists mainly of my coworkers at work, roommate, her boyfriend, and seeing my boyfriend on weekends. College runs my life. It’s not fun. It’s not easy. But hopefully, one day I’ll look back, years from now, and be able to say it was worth it.

One thought on “College Rant

Leave a Reply

